h1

June the 12th

June 12, 2017

Pulse Remembrance Day. One year ago today, the mass shooting at the Pulse nightclub in Orlando, Florida, killed 49 people. Many of them gay, which seemed to be the only reason the shooter targeted that location.

In my local paper yesterday, the remembrance quoted someone (possibly the Orlando police chief) saying that he calls the day, “June the 12th.” I interpreted that as being comparable to “September the 11th.”

Two days in American history, in my lifetime, filled with such vile hatred and evil poison. I do not – cannot – understand how our world can have so many people who are so wicked. I have begun to think that, in addition to red and white blood cells, they have ‘hate’ blood cells coursing through their bodies. It is as if it is in their DNA, which is of course impossible and means they choose evil.

Last week, I had the opportunity to visit the Center for Civil and Human Rights in Atlanta. I encourage everyone to visit if they get the chance. America’s civil rights movement of the 1960s is not something I remember, other than from history books. In recent years, we’ve seen a renewed attempt at a civil rights movement. (Sadly, in my opinion, the violence in many of the current attempts thwarts their messages.)

So, reading again about and seeing again all the absurd laws and rules whites put in place, makes me sad. I don’t understand how anyone thought the oppression and segregation were appropriate. And, as I left the Center (#GetCentered) that afternoon, I was sadder because it seems we still haven’t learned the lessons of that time.

Fear makes humans do stupid things. This hatred out of fear because of skin color or sexual preference seems ignorant to me. Some people ‘wrap’ it in religion, which I don’t accept. My God loves all people and only God will judge someday. I don’t have to understand others’ choices. If they do no harm to others, who am I to deny them the privileges I have?

While we humans often act out of ignorance, we are also resilient and hopeful. I am hopeful that we will continue to make progress and learn from the current day atrocities, like the Pulse shooting, the Sandy Hook heartbreaking shooting, the Aurora, Colorado, movie theater shooting.

We seem to have already forgotten the lessons of September the 11th, and we seem to have long ago lost the lessons of the Holocaust. We must work to remember – to remember so that we can learn, grow and change. People are people, after all. In a country like America, we should be able to set the worldwide example. We can seek to understand and, live out that understanding. Every day, in every encounter.

Leave a Reply

