h1

Lent Day 38

April 2, 2015

Maundy Thursday. The day we remember Jesus’ Last Supper. The day before we go on to crucify Jesus.

As a kid, “Maundy” always puzzled me. I still know adults who think we mean “Monday” not “Maundy.” Maundy references washing of feet, which we believe Jesus did at the Last Supper.

I’m not a fan of feet. I barely tolerate my own. Baby feet are perfect, cute, pudgy and even if they smell sweaty, they’re still sweet. That quickly disappears in my opinion so I have no interest in washing others’ feet or having them wash mine.

My church and my home church include feet washing in their Maundy Thursday worship services. I skip those. I’d rather watch Jesus Christ Superstar, which has a beautiful Last Supper scene. I prefer that image.

No matter how you remember this holy day, we should all focus on Jesus’ impending death and resurrection that saves us all. Tomorrow we will mourn Jesus’ death and Sunday morning we can celebrate. Hallelujia!

Leave a Reply

