h1

Lent Day 36

March 31, 2015

Mark 14: 10-11 (NRSV): Judas Agrees to Betray Jesus

10 Then Judas Iscariot, who was one of the twelve, went to the chief priests in order to betray him to them. 11 When they heard it, they were greatly pleased, and promised to give him money. So he began to look for an opportunity to betray him.

Judas. Not a name with a positive connotation. How could he do what he did?
I would never do that. Or, maybe I just wouldn’t be so blatant in my betrayal. Is it possible betray Jesus on a daily basis?

When I take His name in vain, am I betraying Him? I say yes.

When I ignore the ‘least of these,’ am I betraying Him? I say yes.

When I am impatient or angry with my loved ones, am I betraying Him? I say yes.

What about when I ignore opportunities to share the good news of God’s grace and eternal life? When I don’t take join into a discussion with a group about why I believe and attend church when they all say they don’t get it and won’t spend their time that way? When I skip my morning time for devotions?

Yes, I think all of those are examples of how I am a Judas, even though I don’t want to be a betrayer. As I finish this year’s Lenten journey, I again give thanks that God loves me no matter what. His forgiveness is endless and His grace is mine through only my faith. Thank you, God, and please continue to be with me to guide me and keep me from betrayal. Amen.

Leave a Reply

