h1

Lent Day 34

March 28, 2015

Our 40-day Lenten journey will reach its end next week. It’s a little hard to believe and yet by writing daily, it seems longer in ways. God has been with me every step of the way because I wasn’t sure I would have something to write about and yet I have. Some have even liked what I’ve written – a bonus for me. Thank you.

Starting tomorrow with Palm/Passion Sunday, things began to change for Jesus. Instead of love and praise for him, people turned and began to call for his death.

It is usually an emotional week for me. Palm Sunday is so joyous and celebratory. It makes me happy and thankful. But then I remember it soon changes.

Isn’t that kind of how life is for most of us, too? Everything is going along great, just the way we ‘planned,’ and then bam, out of nowhere crisis or tragedy strikes.

I learned yesterday that doctors just diagnosed the 15-year-old son of one of my coworkers (a single mom) with cancer. I don’t know any other details, nor do I need to know, but it makes me feel sick and there’s nothing I can do to fix it.

It’s also a scary reminder that none of us have control despite our ‘plans.’ In all of that, it’s important to remember that God is with us. Even when it feels like we’re alone in this horrible thing. We are not alone and it’s important for us that we turn to God even when it feels hard to do.

The rest of us need to also turn to God for guidance and direction on what was can do in our limited human ways. We can pray. We can listen. We can give hugs (when appropriate and welcome). We can bring food or other supplies. We can raise funds. We can do yard work or housework or laundry or grocery shopping. We can just be there with them.

I pray my coworker’s situation will turn out to be less ominous than cancer always sounds. I pray that God will end all such illnesses. And I will celebrate both Palm Sunday and Passion Sunday knowing that on the other side of the sadness coming next week, will be the amazing gift of Eternal Life.

Matthew 9: 18-26 (NRSV) A Girl Restored to Life and a Woman Healed

18 While he was saying these things to them, suddenly a leader of the synagogue[d] came in and knelt before him, saying, “My daughter has just died; but come and lay your hand on her, and she will live.” 19 And Jesus got up and followed him, with his disciples. 20 Then suddenly a woman who had been suffering from hemorrhages for twelve years came up behind him and touched the fringe of his cloak, 21 for she said to herself, “If I only touch his cloak, I will be made well.” 22 Jesus turned, and seeing her he said, “Take heart, daughter; your faith has made you well.” And instantly the woman was made well.23 When Jesus came to the leader’s house and saw the flute players and the crowd making a commotion, 24 he said, “Go away; for the girl is not dead but sleeping.” And they laughed at him. 25 But when the crowd had been put outside, he went in and took her by the hand, and the girl got up. 26 And the report of this spread throughout that district.

Leave a Reply

