h1

Lent Day 30

March 24, 2015

In the Lutheran Church we profess our faith through either the Apostles’ Creed or the Nicene Creed (which I believe the Catholic Church also uses). I generally prefer the Apostles’ Creed because it’s a bit shorter and it’s the one I had to memorize in Confirmation. As an adult, I like some of the different language in the Nicene Creed, like, “maker of heaven and earth, of all that is, seen and unseen.”

In my current church, we say the Creed every Sunday in worship. That has not always been true in other churches where I’ve belonged. I guess it’s up to the pastor’s preference somewhat. Like many things, I wonder if we miss some of the meaning when we say it every week. If we professed it say once a month, it wouldn’t be as rote and more of us might reflect on the words and their meaning.

“I believe in God, the Father almighty,
creator of heaven and earth.

I believe in Jesus Christ, God’s only Son, our Lore,
who was conceived by the Holy Spirit,
born of the virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died, and was buried;
he descended to the dead.
On the third he rose again;
he ascended into heaven,
he is seated at the right hand of the Father,
and he will come to judge the living and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy catholic church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of saints,
the resurrection of the body,
and the life everlasting. Amen.

Two points: “holy catholic church” with the lowercase ‘c’ means “whole,” not Roman Catholic (capital ‘C’). I also think it’s important to pay attention to the commas. They remind us to pause for emphasis – something that doesn’t happen during worship in my church. Everyone races through it, which makes me a bit sad.

Aren’t the words in the Creed really what we’re talking about now during Lent and as we approach Easter?

Leave a Reply

