h1

Lent Day 28

March 21, 2015

The weekend is here. For many, including me, time to relax (maybe) and refresh for the week ahead. Time for worship tomorrow to strengthen my daily renewal of my faith and relationship with God. Now, we are just two weeks away from Jesus’ crucifixion.

When I think about that, it always amazes me. What love and courage that must have taken. I think of this passage in the Bible:

Matthew 26:36-46 (NRSV) Jesus Prays in Gethsemane
36 Then Jesus went with them to a place called Gethsemane; and he said to his disciples, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.” 37 He took with him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, and began to be grieved and agitated. 38 Then he said to them, “I am deeply grieved, even to death; remain here, and stay awake with me.” 39 And going a little farther, he threw himself on the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from me; yet not what I want but what you want.”

“Let this cup pass from me.” That’s what I would have wanted to do. I maybe wouldn’t even have asked. I would have just run away from it all. Sorry, God, but this is too hard. Find someone else.

Thankfully for us all, Jesus didn’t have that weak human reaction. Who else would God have found to accept this role that was part of His grand plan to save us all?

As I continue my Lenten journey this weekend, I will reflect again on this glorious gift. Thank you again, God, for sending Your Son to give us eternal life. Amen.

Leave a Reply

