h1

Lent Day 27

March 20, 2015

It’s Friday, March 20, 2015. It’s been quite a week for me with many demands at work. That’s my excuse for not getting a blog written for today. Because today is Friday, I started thinking about Good Friday. I want to wait to write about that. Please accept this Luther Seminary God Pause Devotion. Ms. Bane’s thoughts reconcile with my view of Lent and Easter. Click here to view her devotion on the God Pause website and use the arrow by the date to go back to March 13. Have a peaceful Friday.

Friday, 3/13/2015

John 3:14-21

I’ve always had a deep appreciation for Lent. For me, it’s a time to reflect on and wrestle with the darkness in my personal life and the world around me. Through the honesty and discomfort, Lent teases out my need for a savior. Lent leads me to the weight of the cross on Good Friday—and just when I don’t think my heart can take it anymore, Easter comes. My heart feels both literally and figuratively lightened. I have come to rely on this beautiful and complex cycle.

The cycle of Lent makes space for me to yearn for Easter and welcome the resurrected light that is continually reaching out and drawing me into relationship.

Lord, on this Lenten journey, break my heart open and expose my need for the light of your love. Amen.

Sarah Bane
Youth Director, Shepherd of the Valley Lutheran Church, Apple Valley, Minn.
Master of Arts, 2013

Leave a Reply

