h1

Lent Day 26

March 19, 2015

Maybe it’s just me but relationships are hard sometimes, aren’t they? Even healthy, happy relationships – maybe even especially these relationships.

It takes a lot of time to make a relationship work. I don’t mean just romantic relationships. Whether it’s a friend, a family member or that special someone in your life, we need to put care, thought and energy into the relationship. And that takes work, time and energy.

Sometimes I’m too tired. Sometimes I don’t feel like I have anything left to give. Sometimes I’m selfish or crabby and I don’t want to have to work at it.

The Bible tells us, “Love is patient; love is kind; love is not envious or boastful or arrogant,” 1 Corinthians 13:4 (NRSV). Yet, I’m weak and I often fail at loving in this perfect way.

Thankfully my relationship with God is nothing like these human relationships. He is always there for me – for us – just a prayer away. He loves me unconditionally even when I’m tired, empty, selfish or crabby.

What a relief! If He had the expectations and unstated requirements for me that I may have for those in my life, I wouldn’t stand a chance.

1 Corinthians 13:13 (NRSV)
And now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; and the greatest of these is love.

Leave a Reply

