h1

Lent Day 23

March 16, 2015

Do you pray? How do you pray? When do you pray? How often do you pray?

Prayer has always been part of my life.

Growing up, our family’s mealtime prayer was:

Come Lord Jesus, be our guest.
Let these gifts to us be blessed. Amen.

At night, usually my dad said our night-night prayer with us:

Now I lay me down to sleep.
I prayer the Lord my soul to keep.
If I should die before I wake,
I pray the Lord my soul to take. Amen.

For me as a kid, that prayer was a bit scary. (Perhaps it explains my lifelong fear of dying.)

Even though I’ve prayed my entire life, I don’t consider myself an expert pray-er.

As an adult, much of the time when I pray, I treat it as a conversation with God. I figure God already knows what I’m thinking and what I need so I can just talk with Him. Like a Friend and Counselor.

I don’t need to use fancy words or “thees” and “thous” from the past. It’s okay to speak s myself with God.

Which is exactly what He is. Unlike any other friend I have and unlike the friend I can be.

Believing I can just be myself with Him and speak honestly comforts me. Sometimes I even say things He probably doesn’t want to hear. I question Him and my faith sometimes.

Through it all, He loves me still and His grace and gift of eternal life are mine.

Psalm 25:14 (NRSV) The friendship of the Lord is for those who fear him, and he makes his covenant known to them.

Leave a Reply

