h1

Lent Day 22

March 14, 2015

This isn’t really a Lent issue. It is a current issue and should be important to all Christians.

It’s a hard issue. Shouldn’t be hard for Christians but it seems to be hard for a great number of people.

Emotions run high, as they should, and yet I believe we all still need to pause and pray for God’s guidance to help us all resolve this.

I confess, I don’t completely understand the issue. Actually, what I don’t understand is why it has to be such an issue. I’m pretty sure God never wanted it this way.

Seems like an early Sunday School lesson and song were about God loving everyone – of all skin colors. And it is what He commands us all to do.
Yes, I’m talking about racism. What I don’t understand is why so many people – on all sides – cannot see past skin color. How each person behaves and lives matters much more than skin color.

It saddens me that seemingly we cannot move past that and people suffer and die every day somewhere over race. People use it routinely as an excuse for other wrong behaviors. The vicious cycle keeps spinning.

I pray that everyone who reads this will pause to prayerfully ask God to help us all resolve this battle, starting with each one of us. We can’t change others. We can change only ourselves and how we respond to others’ behaviors. I ask God’s help for us all to find peace and get along.

Psalm 34 (NRSV): Depart from evil, and do good; seek peace, and pursue it.

Leave a Reply

