h1

Lent Day 15

March 6, 2015

“Have you ever received a gift you didn’t think you deserved? It could have been something expensive, or something that required a lot of time and effort—or even the gift of true friendship. It is both humbling and a bit confusing to accept such generosity. For some, it may be tempting to look at the cross of Christ as a foolish sacrifice for us undeserving sinners. But when you come to the breathtaking realization of how infinite God’s love really is, the cross is a given. God’s love IS for you. The cross IS for you. God wouldn’t have it any other way.

“God of love, place in our hearts the faith to believe in the great gift
of your love and grace in Jesus’ name. Amen.”

Elizabeth Pedersen
Director of Senior High Ministry, Lord of Life Lutheran Church, Maple Grove, Minn.
Master of Arts, 2009

This is an excerpt from the March 4, 2015, God Pause devotion. She’s right, isn’t she? Christ’s sacrifice for us is such an amazing and humbling gift.

And we receive it for no reason, no effort on our part. All we need to do is believe.

I’ve received some other amazing gifts throughout my life. My terrific, loving and kind-hearted husband. My beautiful, creative daughter. We’re all healthy. Warm home and a job that I enjoy. These are wonderful gifts, especially in today’s crazy, frightening world.

These priceless gifts also come to me from God. Compared to Jesus’ death and its promise of eternal life for believers, these are teeny little gifts.

Please don’t misread that. I cherish my teeny little gifts and I pray every day that my blessed life continues.
I also cherish this gift from God. The sacrifice of this gift is nearly impossible to comprehend. We humans are rarely that generous.

As a parent I would give my life in exchange for my daughter’s so I understand it maybe a bit. I haven’t been tested, though, thankfully. Would I actually drink that cup if necessary, as Christ did for us? I’m not sure any of us know for certain.

Thankfully God doesn’t make us choose. He asks only that we believe and then we receive His grace and eternal life. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

