h1

Lent Day 11

March 2, 2015

In his Children’s Sermon yesterday, our pastor said that Lent means spring (as in the season), something I don’t remember ever hearing before. So I did what any 21st century person does, I Googled it!

From http://www.catholiceducation.org/en/culture/catholic…/history-of-lent.html, “The word Lent itself is derived from the Anglo-Saxon words lencten, meaning “Spring,” and lenctentid, which literally means not only “Springtide” but also was the word for “March,” the month in which the majority of Lent falls.”

I like that … a lot. This year again, as during past Lent seasons, I’m perplexed by how dour our Lenten worship services seem. For a long time I’ve thought we should make it a more celebratory season. Hearing now that it means springtide, spring – a season all of us anxiously await after winter. We all get excited and are happy about spring, right? Shouldn’t we be even more excited and happy about the unbelievable gift that awaits us at the end of Lent?

I mean of course, Easter. When we celebrate Christ’s resurrection from death, which gives all believers eternal life. That sounds like good news, yes? I mean, really great, inspiring news – which it is. So why then do we worship with a service void of joyful elements?

During Holy Week, particularly on Good Friday, I understand and want the somberness. Our beloved Jesus, born as the light of our world, dies. It is tragic and we spend three days in mourning.

Yet in this 40-day journey, as we prepare for the gift of Easter and reflect on our faith, I choose to make Lent positive. I want to see and hear the joy in the cross. The very cross from which Jesus hung and died. Without the cross, I have little for which to be joyful as a Christian.

Luke 14:27 NRSV: Whoever does not carry the cross and follow me cannot be my disciple.

Leave a Reply

