h1

Lent Day Eight

February 26, 2015

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning.”

For a few weeks now, I’ve set this verse to pop up early each morning so it is the first thing I see on my trusty smartphone when I arise. It comforts me and gives me confidence for the day ahead.

It also reminds me that it is this gift – steadfast, unceasing love – I should contemplate during this 40-day journey. I don’t recall where I found this particular variation. Maybe from a daily devotional email I receive. When I search the online Bible, “steadfast love” appears several times.

Psalm 136 is a wonderful litany with the words, “for his steadfast love endures forever” as the refrain. The Psalm reminds us of the power of God wrapped in this context of love.

He does “great wonders.” He created the heavens. He divided the Red Sea, and “struck down great kings” and “killed famous kings.” The scope of his might is unfathomable for a lowly human sinner like me.

Yet after all that talk of God’s grandeur, the Psalm closes with this message of love.

23 It is he who remembered us in our low estate,
for his steadfast love endures forever;
24 and rescued us from our foes,
for his steadfast love endures forever;
25 who gives food to all flesh,
for his steadfast love endures forever.
26 O give thanks to the God of heaven,
for his steadfast love endures forever.

While I don’t deserve it, I’m not good enough for it and I often take it for granted, God always loves me. And you. He will forever.

Leave a Reply

