h1

Lent Day Five

February 23, 2015

Matthew 4:1-2 (NRSV) – The Temptation of Jesus
1 Then Jesus was led up by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil. 2 He fasted forty days and forty nights, and afterwards he was famished.

Forty days. What was I thinking? Forty days of blogging about Lent? In a row?

Much as I say I want to write, doing it every day (beyond what I do at work) is an aggressive goal. I probably don’t even know that much about Lent.

How did Jesus do it? Fasting forty days in a row. No way! Only to then do battle with the tempter, aka, the devil.

I struggle to come up with a daily blog topic. Finding inspiration each night so I’m ready to post the next morning is hard work. What if nobody else really cares about what I’m writing? I write these so quickly that maybe they’re not as well-written as I think or have typos? What was I thinking?

Wait. Could it be that my struggle too involves the devil? Are those negative thoughts the evil one tempting me to stop sharing my personal faith experience in this way? Dare I like Jesus say:

“Away with you, Satan! for it is written, ‘Worship the Lord your God, and serve only him.’” Matthew 4:10 (NRSV)

Leave a Reply

