h1

Lent Day Four

February 21, 2015

It’s interesting to me that I grew up in the homes of Lutheran ministers, and yet I have no recollection of any Lenten activities in our house. Maybe the respective parents did their own things and didn’t force it on the kids.

Looking back now, I wonder if we all missed something. I remember my Catholic friends giving up something for Lent. Some probably fasted on Ash Wednesday and they couldn’t eat meat on Fridays during Lent. In my high school ‘career’ at McDonalds, filet-o-fish Fridays throughout Lent’s 40 days were popular.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not sure I want to give up food. I am a weak sinner after all who gets cranky when hungry. As a bit of a lifelong rebel, I still question whether God really cares if or expects me to give up food. Does God think that makes me more faithful? I don’t know. But it seems possible that those physical deprivations strengthen the connection between reflection and deeper understanding of Lent.

I do know that I want Lent to be an important part of my life and my faith. During Lent, I want to deepen my faith and my understanding of God’s word. God’s got a lot of work to do in me if He ever wants me to be a biblical scholar (see above rebel reference). Thankfully today we have so many additional resources I use to help me understand His Word, I can study His Word in many ways. By God’s grace, I get a new chance every day.

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning. – Lamentations 3:22-23

Leave a Reply

