h1

Merry Christmas

December 26, 2008

My Christmas Day draws to a close as I write this. I had a great Christmas and I hope you did, too.

This is definitely a year when the wrapped gifts did not make Christmas. My husband and I stopped exchanging gifts a few years ago, partly because of finances then. Now instead of gifts we do things together, put our money toward creating shared memories. We are blessed because our needs and our wants are met.

So this year we enjoyed a quiet day together with plenty of good food. We shared part of the day with a new friend, who is going through a rough time. Together we all saw Marley & Me (which by the way is not a family movie…if your children are under 17, no need for them to see it. Great movie, but it’s for adults!) Then we enjoyed dinner and lively conversation at our house.

As this day ends, I remind myself that as a Christian, Christmas begins today and ends Jan. 6, the day of the Epiphany. I’ll keep up my holiday lights and decorations and continue to enjoy holiday music. And I hope this year, I hang onto the Christmas spirit all year long.

Leave a Reply

