h1

Reduce, reuse, recycle

September 14, 2008

Have you tried Craig’s List? The “mother ship” of all garage sales where my junk becomes someone else’s treasure! It’s a great way to reuse!

Of the reduce, reuse, recycle mantra, I think I like reuse the best. When we reuse we are in a sense recycling and we certainly reduce our waste. Craig’s List lets us reuse others’ things.

Here are a few more reuse tips:

  • Repair items as much as possible.
  • Use durable coffee mugs or drinking glasses.
  • Use cloth napkins or towels.
  • Clean out juice bottles and use them for water (be sure to clean them regularly with hot, soapy water.)
  • Use empty jars to hold leftover food (be sure to clean them regularly with hot, soapy water.)
  • Reuse boxes.
  • Purchase refillable pens and pencils.
  • Participate in a paint collection and reuse program.
  • Donate extras to people you know or to charity instead of throwing them away.
  • Buy cloth shopping bags and use them at stores.
  • I’m sure you can think of more. The last one is fashionable now. Not so a few years back, when I was ahead of my time. So the cotton mesh bags I requested the family give me for a giftback then, I use proudly now after driving them around in my vehicle’s trunk for years.

    Add other ways to reuse as comments to this blog and I’ll post them.

    Source: http://www.epa.gov/epahome/home.htm

    Leave a Reply

